Support Bill to mandate 50 hours of supervised practice driving of which 10 hours is in darkness
Bill A1354/S1963 mandates a minimum of 50 hours of practice driving, 10 hours of which must be at night, before a probationary driver’s license will be issued to the holder of a learner’s permit under the age of 21. The law will strengthen our Graduated Driver Licensing System (“GDL”) and prevent tragic crashes by ensuring young drivers have more experience behind the wheel under a variety of conditions.
The risk of motor vehicle crashes is higher among teens aged 16–19 than among any other age group. In fact, per mile driven, teen drivers in this age group are nearly three times more likely to be in a fatal crash. There were 60 crash fatalities involving a teen driver in NJ in 2020. This number does not account for injuries or the emotional impact on the victim’s families. These are not accidents, these are crashes that are preventable.
47 other states have recognized the necessity of this bill. NJ is one of the 3 states (Arkansas and Mississippi are the other two) without a required minimum hours of practice driving. NJ can do its part by adopting this bill and help reduce the number of crashes and save lives.
You can help us save lives and serious injuries on our roadways by signing this petition and reaching out to your respective legislatures to co-sponsor this bill. Click here to get contact details for your Assembly and Senate.